The Student News Site of Tarrant County College

The Collegian

The Student News Site of Tarrant County College

The Collegian

The Student News Site of Tarrant County College

The Collegian

TCC looks for first dream button

By Victor Henderson/reporter

Each student has a dream, and TCC students can share those dreams artistically.

TCC is accepting proposals for five commissioned designs by students at each of the five campuses as part of the Achieving the Dream Button Contest.

“We were brainstorming about how to get students involved in talking about the Achieving the Dream initiative, and there was a poster contest last year,” said Irene Thrower, TR Achieving the Dream program coordinator.

“We thought it would be fun if we design a button each year, and then we can begin a historical and visual representation to the (program) initiative in the district.”

The district offices of Achieving the Dream developed the contest to see what success means to the students and how they would represent it artistically, according to the contest coordinators.

“We want to instill a sense of pride in the students and encourage creative expression,” Thrower said. “We want something that will talk to students, faculty and staff about what it means when we say we want more retention, completion and graduation.”

Button submissions are due Nov. 15, and they can be new or previously created original works.

The art should include the themes of dreaming big, graduation, studying or hard work, which are the main principles of Achieving the Dream, said Julie Gale, NE Achieving the Dream coordinator.

All artists should be 18 years old or older and currently enrolled at any of the five TCC campuses. 

One design per student can be submitted and must follow the white, black and teal color palette. In addition, students can include one color of their choosing in the button design.

The artwork should be submitted as a round shape at 300 dpi resolution or higher to a campus coordinator for Achieving the Dream. It can be created in Vector Art, Illustrator, CorelDraw, Adobe Free Hand or Photo Paint and should be submitted via email attachment as an .eps file.

Student artists who attend classes on multiple campuses must submit their work to the campus where they attend most of their courses.

Each campus will have a campus winner and from those five winners, an overall district winner will be selected.

A panel of Achieving the Dream coordinators will judge the design made up of TCC faculty, staff and administrators, and the winner will be determined by how well he or she met the criteria.

The Achieving the Dream coordinators hope to have several prizes and incentives. The district winner will be announced Jan. 9.

Achieving the Dream Coordinators:

To submit artwork or to get more information, students should contact the appropriate coordinator on their home campus:

NE Campus: Julie Gale Send E-mail to: julie.gale@tccd.edu

NW Campus: Eduardo Aguilar Send E-mail to: eduardo.aguilar@tccd.edu or Rebecca Staats Send E-mail to: rebecca.staats@tccd.edu

South Campus: Charlene Ghaedi Send E-mail to: charlene.ghaedi@tccd.edu

SE Campus: Jacquelyn Minor Send E-mail to: jacquelyn.minor@tccd.edu

TR Campus: Irene Thrower Send E-mail to: irene.thrower@tccd.edu

Donate to The Collegian

Your donation will support the student journalists of Tarrant County College. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Collegian