The Student News Site of Tarrant County College

The Collegian

The Student News Site of Tarrant County College

The Collegian

The Student News Site of Tarrant County College

The Collegian

Entertainment Calendar

The Collegian Logo
The Collegian Logo

Now-April 26 The NE art department closes its TCC NE Student Painting Exhibition in College Hall (NCAB 1111). The show features a diverse collection of work from NE painting students. For more information, contact art associate professor Cynthia Hurt at cynthia.hurt@tccd.edu or 817-515-6904.

Now-April 28 The SE fine arts department presents its Annual Studio Art Student Exhibition in Art Corridor I. Works are from SE studio art classes. The Art League judges the exhibition and awards three scholarships. For more information, contact instructional assistant Christopher Blay at christopher.blay@tccd.edu or 817-515-3406.

Now-April 29 NE Campus’ drama program presents First Date in the NE theater (NFAB 1205). The musical comedy follows two people trying to survive a blind first date as they try to turn what could be a dating disaster into something special before the check arrives. Performances begin at 7 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday with a 2 p.m. Saturday matinee. Admission is free for TCC students, faculty and staff, $3 for non-TCC students and senior citizens and $6 for the general public. For more information, contact drama adjunct instructor Susan Polster at susan.polster@tccd.edu or 817-515-6497.

Now-April 29 NE’s photography program presents In Pursuit of Magic: City Walls, NYC 2014, a photo exhibit by Rene West, Amarillo College photography assistant professor. The works are in the NCAB NEO Gallery. For more information, email ting.huang@tccd.edu or call 817-515-6618.

Now-April 30 SE’s fine arts department’s Arbor Day Poster Competition in Art Corridor III consists of work from students in art assistant professor Sharon Covington’s Digital Design class. For more details, contact Covington at 817-515-3703 or sharon.covington@tccd.edu.

Now-May 4 South Campus’ fine arts department hosts its Juried Art Exhibition 5:30-7 p.m. in the Carillon Gallery. For more information, contact art associate professor Kara English at 817-515-4604 or kara.english@tccd.edu.

Now-May 6 NW Campus’ visual arts department hosts Scratching the Surface: TCC Northwest Student Invitational Exhibition during regular campus hours in the Lakeview Gallery (WFAB 1135A). The exhibit features artwork from the fall and spring semesters. For more information, contact art associate professor Christian de Leon at 817-515-7606 or christian.deleon@tccd.edu.

April 26 South Campus’ fine arts will hold a studio voice recital featuring students of Ji Youn Kim 7:30-9:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall. Voice students will sing art songs in different languages as solo acts.

April 27 The SE music department will hold the Jazz Ensemble and Jazz Combo concert at 7:30 p.m. in the C.A. Roberson Theatre. For more information, contact music professor Greg Dewhirst at gregory.dewhirst@tccd.edu or 817-515-3718.

April 27 South Campus’ Sigma Delta Kappa society will host a Poetry Slam competition 6:30-9 p.m. in the Recital Hall. Students can compete against one another with professional poets competing in their own category. For more information, contact English associate professor Matt Koch at 817-515-4616 or matthew.koch@tccd.edu.

April 27 NW Campus will host the Honors Student Recital at 7:30 p.m. in WFAB 1105. Students who take private lessons will perform a variety of music. For more information, contact music associate professor Eddie Vandewalker at 817-515-7021 or richard.vandewalker@tccd.edu.

April 27-29 The NW Dance Company and Mosaic Dance Project will present Spring into Dance! Fly. Soar. Awaken. at 7:30 p.m. Thursday through Saturday. Students, special guests and alumni will perform pieces from dance styles such as jazz, ballet, modern and hip-hop. The performance is free to TCC students, staff and faculty, $3 for non-TCC students and seniors and $6 for general admission. For more information, contact dance associate professor Amy Jennings at 817-515-7174 or amy.jennings@tccd.edu.

April 28 The final voice recital for NE music majors will start at 7 p.m. in College Hall (NCAB 1111) on NE Campus. The recital will feature NE students Angie Ntavo, Emily Nakoneczny and Morgan Gardner. For more information, contact music instructor Stan Paschal at stan.paschal@tccd.edu or 817-515-6236.

April 29 The SE music department will host the Student Choreography Concert at 6 p.m. in the dance studio. For more information, contact dance associate professor Brandy Niccolai at brandy.niccolai@tccd.edu or 817-515-3844.

May 2-6 Artwork from Associate of Arts in Visual Arts students will be on display all day in College Hall (NCAB 1111) on NE Campus. The exhibit is student-organized and will feature submitted work from declared AAVA students. An artists reception for the exhibit will run 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. May 3 in College Hall. For more information, contact art associate professor Martha Gordon at martha.gordon@tccd.edu or 817-515-6571 or NE student Taylor King at taylor.king227536@my.tccd.edu.

May 4 An orchestra concert will start at 5 p.m. in College Hall (NCAB 1111) on NE Campus. The concert will feature performances by adjunct music instructor I-Ching Chen on piano, the symphonic orchestra and the string orchestra. They will perform movements from Mozart’s Piano Concerto K. 414 in A major and Britten’s Symphony op. 4. For more information, contact music professor Hsinyi Wang at hsinyi.wang@tccd.edu or 817-515-6255.

May 4 The Chamber Ensemble Concert will start at 7 p.m. in College Hall (NCAB 1111) on NE Campus. The student ensembles will perform pieces from famous composers like Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Bartok and Strauss. For more information, contact music professor Hsinyi Wang at hsinyi.wang@tccd.edu or 817-515-6255.

May 4 NW student choreographers will feature their work in the Student Choreography Showcase at 7:30 p.m. in Theatre Northwest (WTLO 1108). The concert is fully choreographed, performed and produced by NW dance students. The performance is free for all TCC students, faculty and staff, $3 for non-TCC students and seniors and $6 for general admission. For more information, contact dance associate professor Lacreacia Sanders at 817-515-7692 or lacreacia.sanders@tccd.edu.

May 4, 5 South’s fine arts will host Paradigm: A Dance Concert at 7:30 p.m. in the Carillon Theatre. The concert will feature performances by students, faculty, staff and guest artists Muscle Memory Dance Theatre and Ballet Folklorico Hispano de Dallas. For more information, contact dance instructor Kiera Amison at 817-515-4270 or kiera.amison@tccd.edu.

May 5 The SE dance department will hold the Dance Works concert at 1:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. in the C.A. Roberson Theatre. For more information, contact dance associate professor Brandy Niccolai at brandy.niccolai@tccd.edu or 817-515-3844.

May 5 The preparatory piano semester solo recital will start at 6 p.m. in College Hall (NCAB 1111) on NE Campus. The recital is open to the public. For more information, contact music adjunct instructor Sarah Alexander at sarah.alexander@tccd.edu or 817-515-6683.

May 5-6 The Spring Formal Dance Concerts will be in the NE Campus theater (NFAB 1205). Performances will start at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday with a 2:30 p.m. Saturday matinee. Admission for the concert is free for TCC students, faculty and staff and $5 for the general public. For more information, contact dance professor Kihyoung Choi at kihyoung.choi@tccd.edu or 817-515-6638. For reservations, contact the box office at neplayhouse@tccd.edu or 817-515-6687.

May 6 South Campus’ jazz bands will perform at Texas Wesleyan University as part of the Wesleyan/TCC Jazz Festival at 4 p.m. The concert will feature guest pianist Brian Piper. For more information, contact music instructor Rick Stitzel at 817-515-4648 or richard.stitzel@tccd.edu.

Donate to The Collegian

Your donation will support the student journalists of Tarrant County College. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Collegian